The Eight Splendid Truths of Happiness

In her study of happiness, Gretchen Rubin identified eight fundamental principles of happiness. Inspired by the numbered lists that pop up throughout Buddhism (the Triple Refuge, the Noble Eightfold Path, the Four Noble Truths, the eight auspicious symbols), she dubbed these fundamental principles as her Eight Splendid Truths.

First Splendid Truth

To be happier, you have to think about feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth.
(You can use the First Splendid Truth as a guide to organize your own Happiness Project)

Second Splendid Truth

One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy;
One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.

Third Splendid Truth

The days are long, but the years are short. 

Fourth Splendid Truth

You’re not happy unless you think you’re happy.
(Many argue the opposite case. John Stuart Mill, for example, wrote, “Ask yourself whether you are happy, and you cease to be so.”)

Fifth Splendid Truth

You can build a happy life only on the foundation of your own nature.
(Get to know yourself better to make resolutions that work for you.)

Sixth Splendid Truth

The only person you can change is yourself.

Seventh Splendid Truth

Happy people make people happy, but
You can’t make someone be happy, and
No one else can make you happy.

Eighth Splendid Truth

Now is now.

What Splendid Truths of Happiness would you add to your own list?

The Eight Splendid Truths of Happiness